Filling the Vase

Standard

I used to stand in our galley kitchen, feet planted in tadasana,
peeling the tough skin from grapes and cutting the pulp into quarters,
and I marveled at my blessings.

Today I stand in the same kitchen,
haphazardly in tadasana,
making quesadillas
baking cookies
while the babe pops in
from the yard with
dandelions and clover
for my vase,
and then again
to say
“I love you,”
and again
with fallen
petals,
and I
still marvel,
how a boy
sends Time
flying.

7 responses »

    • Thank you, Lorien! I’ve been noticing how my perception of time has changed now that there’s no infant in my arms…it is amazing how something as abstract as time has such definitive impact. Thank you for reading and taking the time to share your thoughts. Many blessings…

      • Isn’t it strange to not have an infant to carry? There’s a certain emptiness and a certain freedom all at once. The ambivalence of motherhood! I’m enjoying your posts, Amy. ❤

      • These latest have been interesting and sometimes difficult at times to piece together….funny when posting daily the poems don’t steep or sit or grow for long…. thank you for your kindness! !

  1. First, love the shape of the vase the line breaks make. This is lovely and full of blessing. The gift of food from you, dandelions and love from your child, is beautiful. The pose of tadasana is interesting and mystical. The element of time closes the poem nicely and adds more depth. Love this poem friend!! I am so enjoying your writing as always….Love and light your way….

Share your thoughts

