Prayer for Joy & Contentment, Peace Hope and Love

Standard

Dearest Mother of God, pray this prayer alongside me, you who have borne great trials and suffering, who knows what it is to be fearful, confused, and full of anxiety. Support and encourage me to ask and receive, to knock and let it be opened, to call and be answered. Be with me in spirit and in prayer as I walk my journey of motherhood.

O my God and Savior, release me from anxiety, save me from fear. Holy Spirit fill and consume me with truth, love, faith, hope, and life. Be one with me Lord, as I sit in the quiet of morning, as I run about through the day, as I rest in the evening, and as I sleep through the night.

In my deep limitations I can only see the door as locked, my calls unanswered. Please hear the silent cries of my heart. Know my needs before I do. Know my wants before I articulate them. Be my heart so that I am truly like you. Let my heart speak this prayer ceaselessly – as I wake, as I live, as I sleep. Let every breath and every heart beat sound your praise, worship, and oneness.

Be in my meditation, sit with me on my cushion, sit with me on the floor. Be with me in my moving, my stretching and opening. Be with me in my prayer, spoken and silent. Be with me in my loving, in my caring, in my playing, in my eating, in my cleaning, in my hoping, in my reading, in my working, in my writing, in my everything.

O Christ, hear and answer me. O Lord, hear and answer me. O God, hear and answer me. O Most Holy Spirit, hear and fill me with contentment and joy.

Amen.

2 responses »

    • Thank you for your kind comments, Cynthia. These kinds of prayers follow a pattern and cadence I find when reading traditional devotionals and/or prayers of the saints- the concepts and rhythms tend to stay with me a while. It is a gift to be able to enter into the tradition… So much to be thankful for!

Share your thoughts

