A Song for Christ-Everywhere

Standard

He is not separate from the baby
nor far from the man,

not separate from the child
nor far from the woman,

not separate from the giver
nor far from the thief,

not separate from the faithful
nor far from the doubting,

not separate from the penitent,
nor far from the prideful.

He is all in all.  Emmanuel.

He never retreats,
but always chases.

I catch him looking at me through my little ones’ eyes,
the browns, blues, greens.

He lives in each of us, in all of our humanity.
The birth of God on earth –
the sanctification of our humanity, our daily life –
makes us capable of holiness,
for God is all in all.

“I made known to them your name and I will make it known, that the love with which you loved me may be in them and I in them.”  (John 17:26)  

 

2 responses »

  1. This is a profound poem Amy!! I love all the juxtapositions of he is not separated from nor far from and deep truth here. I love “I catch him looking at me through my little ones’ eyes/ the browns, blues and greens.” Wonderful song for our Lord who is indeed everywhere!!.

Share your thoughts

